St Patrick’s Day: Before and After

First and foremost, my family is Irish. We’re a lot of other things (Portuguese) but the colors that shine brightest are the loud, obnoxious, in-your-face greens of being hardcore Irish. I have a patron saint (St Francis of Assisi, obviously, with his affinity for animals, the environment, and stow aways) and a face full of black Irish freckles and dark hair that literally every single person I’m related to adorns as well.

Other things my Irish ancestry gives me – a special bond with St. Patrick’s Day. (Okay, maybe that’s just my special bond with Bailey’s Irish Creme…)

That day just also happens to be today. I’ll start the day by calling my grandparents (Patty and Mick, my two living grandmothers) and my parents and checking in. I’ll work most of the day, but that night will be ours! (I’ve already mentioned a tentative personal day from work for this Friday, just in case.)

In college, St. Patrick’s Day was a day to get drunk! That has carried over for my friends and I, as we partake in wonderfully fun young adult adventures every year on the weekend closest to that most green-clothes/red-faced holiday. I was even lucky enough to make it to Boston for a couple of St. Patty’s Day traditions.

In the future, specifically my future, I hope my kids will enjoy St. Patrick’s Day. It’s also the same week as my brother’s birthday and my late grandfather’s birthday, and we celebrate them both, along with our heritage, every March.

A March baby wouldn’t be so bad either. Maybe get luck and land on this great green holiday, or even the Spring Equinox…

 

*image courtesy of IsleOfBaby

Leave a Reply

