Current Events and Other Classes I Sucked at in High School

That title is a bit misleading. But, this will be about current events.

Needless to say I am not delighted with the current political situation. I worry about the President not standing up for the rights of women and my future children (and a lot of other things, but they’re not as relevant here as this stuff.)

I live in a big city and I attended the Women’s March on Saturday. And it was amazing. I consider myself relatively politically active, more than I used to be, and I had a fantastic experience with other women (and men) who share my goals of bettering our future through peaceful reminders that hey – we’re not too stoked about the current plan.

Peaceful protest is a right that we should absolutely take advantage of. We made signs that highlighted our concerns, we wrote letters to our congressmen and women after the march, and we talked about our futures. Some of us are artists – what will happen to our taxes and welfare? Some of us are disabled – how will the President work to include all Americans in his plan for the future? Where is equality for those that are not waiting on the President hand and foot (and wallet)?

As we make our way into an unknown future, I know that we will do what it takes to make the world a better place for our children – we must protect our environment, our civil rights, and our country in a way that makes them proud to be from America.

Whatever your beliefs, I challenge you to make the world a better place for your children! Speak your voice and talk with your neighbors – there is fear in the unknown, demolish that fear by breaking down boarders and learning what those who disagree with you truly believe in. In the end we all want the same thing – the preservation of safety and happiness. (At least, here’s hoping that’s the case across the board.)

May you and your families stay safe and empowered!

Leave a Reply

